Red House Children’s Book Awards

On Saturday 23rd February we attended The Red House Children’s Book Awards at London’s Southbank Centre.

It is the only national book award voted for entirely by children and consists of three separate categories to suit young readers of varying ages – Younger Children, Yonger Readers, and Older Readers.

For the second year running Rachel was asked to make awards for each category winner.  She wanted these to reflect the main award which is historically given to the triumphant author who receives the most votes for their book – a large wooden tree with a beautiful silver book in its branches. So, Rachel decided to make bookmarks shaped like oak tree leaves.  These were to have a leaf vein texture and solid silver acorns attached to each by a chain.  Rachel says, “I have always felt you could not do much with a trophy apart from put it on your mantelpiece, so I decided to make a bookmark so the authors could use them daily.”

Rachel was also asked to make an egg-sized acorn which would fit inside the wooden tree so that when the author is required to give up the trophy after their winning year, they have the acorn as a keepsake. 

Such a lovely project!


David Walliams with his category prize – our engraved Oak Leaf & Acorn bookmark. Awarded for his book Gangsta Granny.

Sophie McKenzie, winner of the Older Readers category.


Korky Paul presenting the award to the Younger Children winners.

Korky Paul presenting the award to the Younger Children winners.

The winners! Andrew Weale and Lee Wildish for their book Spooky Spooky House.
Pages of the silver book in the tree’s branches are engraved with each winner’s name.



More detail can be seen in the photograph below…

Detail of the Oak Leaf bookmark and large acorn awarded to Patrick Ness in 2012.






Can't find what you're looking for? Try a search: